Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Subscribe to your local paper.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Get text messages on your mobile device with news, weather and more from Kendall County Now.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
In our Morning Update newsletter, we'll send you a mix of our best stories and the most recent obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Kendall County.
Local Election

County sheriff, clerk, treasurer to run for re-election

Filing for spring primary election begins at County Clerk's office

All of the incumbents up for office who represent Kendall County have filed as candidates for the March 20 primary, as the filing period began Monday, Nov. 27.

Candidates who want to be on the March ballot will need to turn in petitions with the required number of signatures to either the Kendall County Clerk’s Office or the Illinois State Board of Elections, depending on the office, by the end of the business day next Monday, Dec. 4.

Sheriff Dwight Baird filed to run for re-election to his second four-year term as sheriff.

County Clerk Debbie Gillette and County Treasurer Jill Ferko are also running for re-election. This would be Gillette’s third term as clerk and Ferko’s fifth term as treasurer if they are successful.

County Board Chairman Scott Gryder, Vice Chairman Lynn Cullick and board member Matthew Prochaska all confirmed Monday that they would be filing to run for re-election.

Board member Judy Gilmour, who is also up for re-election next year, said she was still going through the process of filing but did not confirm if she would be running for re-election.

Long-time board member and former Yorkville Mayor Bob “H.D.” Davidson said he would not be running for another term on the board. (See related story)

Former County Board member Dan Koukol of Oswego is running again after losing his seat in the 2016 Republican Party primary for the board. Koukol most recently ran unsuccessfully for Oswego Township supervisor in the spring 2017 election.

Todd Milliron of Yorkville is running for County Board as well. Milliron has been involved in numerous campaigns over the years criticizing various local governments.

The following candidates, all Republicans, filed on Monday morning, Nov. 27, the first day of filing for candidates: County Clerk and Recorder of Deeds, Debbie Gillette, 1611 Cypress Lane, Yorkville; Sheriff, Dwight Baird, 37 Robert Rd., Oswego; Treasurer, Jill J. Ferko, 624 Bluestem Dr., Yorkville; County Board District 1, Roger Blomgren, 2055 Bernadette Lane, Yorkville; and Todd Milliron, 61 Cotswold Dr., Yorkville; County Board District 2, Dan Koukol, 1690 Collins Rd., Oswego.

Those up for re-election next year in the General Assembly are state Senator Sue Rezin, R-Morris, and state Senator Linda Holmes, D-Aurora, both for four-year terms, and all four of the county’s state representatives.

According to the Illinois State Board of Elections, both Holmes and Rezin filed to run for re-election during the filing period Monday.

Also filing to run for re-election in next year’s spring primary were incumbent state Rep. Keith Wheeler, R-Oswego; state Rep. Mark Batinick, R-Plainfield; state Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit, D-Oswego; and state Rep. David Allen Welter, R-Morris.

It appears that, if they win their respective party’s primary in the spring, Batinick, Wheeler, and Kifowit will see opponents in the November general election.

Democrat Mica Freeman of Plainfield filed to run in her party’s primary in Batinick’s district. Democrat James G. Leslie of Aurora filed to run for his party’s primary in Wheeler’s district. Republican Patty Smith of Aurora filed to run for her party’s primary in Kifowit’s district.

In the 14th Congressional District, incumbent Rep. Randy Hultgren, R-Plano, filed, as did five Democratic candidates. Democrats George Weber of Lakewood, Matthew Brolley of Montgomery, Lauren Underwood of Naperville, Victor Swanson of Batavia, and John J. Hosta of Spring Grove filed as candidates Monday.

In the 11th Congressional District, the only candidate to file Monday was incumbent Rep. Bill Foster, Naperville.

Loading more